food safety pillars feature image

Why You Need To Understand The Food Safety Pillars

Reading Time: 2 minutes

We can learn to implement the system by following the food safety pillars course on an introduction to hygiene and food safety.

In the food safety pillars course, you will learn the correct clean as you go procedure and why it is important to have  good cleaning and sanitising in place.

We will also look at how, why and when to wash your hands.

You will also learn why it is important to store raw and ready-to-eat food separately as well as the importance of the correct storage of dry goods.

You will also learn to understand why temperature control and the temperature danger zone is critical to food safety and lastly you will learn how to cool down food safely, how to defrost and reheat foods without causing potential risk to food poisoning.

The food safety pillars are the key elements in preventing food poisoning in the kitchen environment. Without these pillars, no foundation for safe food can be built.

  • Cleaning & Sanitising
    • The first step in creating a food safety system is the fundamental aspect of cleaning and sanitising.
  • Personal Hygiene
    • The second pillar is probably the most important in terms of eliminating cross-contamination. Hand washing and clean hands awareness are critical to food safety.
  • Food Storage
    • The third pillar can be categorised into two areas 
      • Perishable foods (Cold storage)
      • Dry goods
  • Temperature Control
    • The fourth pillar of food safety is a fundamental principle in preventing the growth of bacteria and ensuring the quality of food is maintained.
  • Food Handling
    • The fifth and final pillar of food safety related to how food is handled during storage and preparation. Food Handling carries the greatest risk when dealing with cross-contamination.

Food safety can only effectively be developed in three stages:

  1. Awareness
  2. Understanding
  3. Implementation

Creating Awareness in the kitchen is the first stage in developing a hygiene and food safety system.

Developing an understanding of food safety will help maintain a system organically and sustainably. Once, the above stages have been addressed, Implementation can take place.

The food safety pillars form the basis for a pre-requisite program for food safety systems such as:

  1. Hazard Analysis of Critical Control Points (HACCP)
  2. ISO 22000 (Food Safety Systems)
  3. BRC (British International Standard)

All too often, these systems are put into place without having a solid foundation

Using the food safety pillars, allows you to:

  1. Identify potential risks
  2. Assess the risks according to critical, major & minor
  3. Understand the basic requirements for a food safety management system
  4. Work according to the food safety pillars
  5. Train others in the awareness of food safety

Check out the next post on the cleaning & sanitising pillar. Or go straight to cleaning and sanitising cutting boards. For more information on the food safety pillars check the ebook on Amazon. If you would like to learn more about Hygiene Food Safety Subscribe to the blog. Want to get your question answered and featured on our site? Head on to our FAQs page and fill in the questions form.

Similar Posts